AFLMWA names 3 new Fairest and Best Medals after Legends of State Football Mon, October 10, 2022 - 10:32 AM - by Jesse Tippet

WA Fairest and Best Medals are issued at each National Carnival, and at the conclusion of the 2022 National Carnival in Adelaide, 3 new medals were named after 3 individuals who have lead the way in Masters Football in WA.

The first new medal named was the Linlee Taylor Women’s 35s Fairest & Best, Tails as she is better known has been a massive supporter, mentor and confidant for the development of women’s masters, she retired from playing last year at the Perth Carnival someone who gets involved and just wants to be a part of the team, helping not only as assistant coach but also as a Quickkick advocate. Tails is the sound of reason and the one to turn too when logic or common sense is lost. Tails has nothing but wanting to grow the women’s game and allow anyone of any ability to play. She is involved with coaching the integrated sides at Warnbro and working with the Warnbro Swans Womens team since it started. She has represented WA over many decades and as a Board we wish for her to be recognised by naming the medal after Linlee Taylor.  The inaugural winner this year was Shannon Palassis.


The second new medal named was the Trevor Staniforth Men’s 50s Super Senior Div 2 Fairest & Best, Stannas has been representing WA for 36 years, playing until 2002 when a knee injury stopped him from playing, he coached State teams, then took on Team Manager in 2003, and is still doing it today. Stannas is a mentor to many state coaches and team managers and having the endless supply of Grippo in his little wooden container, a guy that is never flustered and super organised, making life as a coach super easy, and seems to do everything and anything asked of him, one of the quiet achievers in WA Masters Footy. Its an honour to name this medal after one of our champions, a WA Hall of Famer and WA Life member, one of 4 Inductees at Northern Warriors as a Legend, as the Trevor Staniforth Super Seniors Div 2 F & B, and the inaugural winner this year was Michael Spandanunda


The third new medal named is the Neville Clarke Men’s 45s Seniors Div 2 Fairest & Best, named after an absolute legend of AFLMWA travelling sides, someone who is on his 28th Carnival, and doesn’t look like stopping, someone who everyone speaks so highly off and never has anything bad to say, he has represented this state and been a significant sponsor over many years, he is the life of every gathering on tour, tells the best stories and is an all round top bloke, He is a WA Hall of Famer and Life Member, National AFL Masters Hall of Famer. Its an absolute honour to recognise Neville’s commitment to State Footy with the naming of this medal. This years Neville Clarke Seniors Div 2 F & B medallist was Reece Watt.

Enter your e-mail and subscribe to our newsletter.